Eight Yukon teachers grieve after no permanent-status promotions

Educators 'perpetually' in probation troubling: Arbitrator
|Canadian Labour Reporter|Last Updated: 01/22/2018

Despite working for years in the Yukon school system, eight teachers were continually considered temporary due to “exceptional circumstances.”

Lindsay Hutchinson, Matteus Geisler, Emily Claes, Pricilla Dawson, Allison Cunningham, Trina Dennis, Laura Bateman, Bruce Gillard collectively grieved their status after all were advised by Judy Arnold, deputy education minister, that during the 2016-17 school session, they were all deemed to remain temporary teachers not permanent or indeterminate (which carries the same weight as permanent). 

“I am deeming your employment to be temporary due to exceptional circumstances pursuant to section 109(2) of the Education Labour Relations Act,” said letters sent to five of the teachers.
(Dawson was advised her temporary status was due to “enrollment uncertainty.” Dennis and Geisler became indeterminate employees after the grievance was filed; Arnold retired in 2015 and did not testify).